Posted by: solosprint | December 14, 2007

Has it really been 6 weeks!!!!

I really can’t believe that its been six weeks since my last blog, many, many apologies to everyone who has been emailing me awaiting the next blog…you have the patience of saints. Anyway here is 6 weeks condensed into a few paragraphs.

I really didn’t know just how mammoth a project this was in putting together and its taken over my life this year! It certainly has been a journey of discovery trying to get it all together in less than a year. Just thinking back it was January this year at the boat show when I was contemplating rowing and less than a year down the line I have had a boat designed, built, kitted out and as of yesterday finally locked away in a container and on her way to the canaries.

Hip, hip,  Hoo-bloody-raaaay for that one!

I had the boat in Rudyard for almost 6 weeks trying to get used to her and get the rowing position sorted. I had some great help from everyone at the lake and after 6 weeks of going almost daily, I kind of miss the place. It certainly is a beautiful spot. Rudyard Ray was fantastic in his support and nothing was ever too much trouble. Ray even arranged for Matt and a couple of lads from Peak Pursuits to come down and help carry out the roll tests on the boat. She righted herself very well and I was pleased with the results, managed to split my head open in the process, but that’s another story!!

 Len from the rowing club also gave me a lesson on rowing and gave advice on the set up, this took me ages to get right but with the help of some friends I’ve managed to fabricate a system that will allow several setting for different conditions and lighter or heavier boat. Richard also offered to video me but we never got the time to get together. As in-between all this I have been trying to sort my back out…..which was giving me more than cause for concern.


Categories